the company
 
the company / citycontempdancelaureate2018
CITY CONTEMPORARY DANCE LAUREATE 2018

Since 2016, CCDC set up the “City Contemporary Dance Laureate” to recognise individuals who made significant contributions to contemporary dance in Hong Kong in the previous year. Nominees can be of any nationality and from any territory, and from diverse backgrounds including creativity and production, education, publicity and promotion, and sponsorship of cultural exchanges. Candidates are nominated by CCDC members and approved by the Company’s board of directors. 

The 3nd City Contemporary Dance Laureate Presentation Ceremony was held at the Dance Studio of Kwai Tsing Theatre on Friday, 13th April at 6:30pm.

HIGHLIGHTS  OF THE CEREMONY 


Mr Ma Chak-wa, Stephen, OStJ, CPM (Entrepreneur/ Philanthropist)

Chairman of Sik Sik Yuen (SSY), Ma Chak-wa, Stephen, OStJ, CPM, gave his full support to the Sik Sik Yuen Modern Dance Training Programme, which was implemented in eight SSY secondary and primary schools. The programme provided 140 students with a long-term arts development course that successfully combined dance education and learning of Chinese culture. The joint-school project provided basic dance training and creativity workshops, culminating in a closing performance staged at a formal theatre space when the course completed in 2017. The programme enhanced the comprehensive development of participating students and increased their interest in Chinese culture through movement and dance. Led by Ma and the Education Committee of SSY, this project has found groundbreaking methods to conduct arts education.

AWARDEE'S INTERVIEW

 

Ms Betty Wong (Costume Production)

Betty Wong began her tailor training in the 1970s. She is personally involved from drawing paper patterns to sewing the costumes. Over the years, she has produced a vast quantity of costumes that allowed dancers to express without constraints, becoming an intrinsic part of the dance world. Known affectionately as “Aunty Betty”, Wong is trusted by choreographers, smaller and medium arts organisations and schools to realise their stage costumes based on the creative team’s ideas and the performance style. In 2017, Wong made costumes for the closing performance of Sik Sik Yuen Modern Dance Training Programme, one of which was a “fire” outfit made from layers of organza achieving a feather like effect. Its tailoring, craftsmanship and stage effect were much praised by dancers and audiences. Putting her heart into every individual piece she made, Wong has become a performer’s most reliable partner, supporting dancers by granting addition focus beyond body and motion. 

AWARDEE'S INTERVIEW

 

Mr Nick Ho (Vice-Chancellor of Pui Ching Middle School)



Nick Ho is well-known in Hong Kong’s education and theatre sectors, for his dedication in nurturing teenagers through stage performance. He believes the strict regime of musical theatre training and subsequent performance help young people establish values and build confidence. The Awakening, which Ho produced and wrote, has been revived three times, and the rehearsal process was captured by Ruby Yang, an Academy Award for Best Documentary winner. The resultant film, My Voice, My Life, is a testament to the metamorphosis of students taking part, showing their growth through music and dance training. In 2017, Ho worked with more than eighty students – originating from Hong Kong as well as South Asia, together with visually impaired young people – to produce Sing Out. The musical received great response and the students found much inspiration from this way of learning.

AWARDEE'S INTERVIEW
 

Ms Prudence Liew (Singer/Actor)


Hong Kong singer Prudence Liew launched her first album in the early 1980s. The free and daring performance opened up a new style in the city’s pop music industry. On top of her successful music career, Liew’s performance in True Women for Sale won the Golden Horse Award for Best Actress in 2008. The role was a showcase of her talent and willingness to continually challenging herself. When Liew staged her concert Karma Chameleon at the Hong Kong Coliseum in October 2017, she invited choreographer Ivanhoe Lam as dance director. Mixing theatre, cabaret and contemporary dance, the concert was linked together by ten chapters of original dance full of symbols and resonance, broadening the artistic horizons of a pop concert into a cross-disciplinary performance.

AWARDEE'S INTERVIEW

 

2017 Awardees

2016 Awardees

 
Sign Up
ENews and Special Offers



Interested in : Performances / events
Dance Courses

 
 
Follow CCDC
Follow Dance Centre

See Full Contact Information   >>

舞蹈團
 
舞蹈團 / 2018 城市當代舞蹈達人
2018 城市當代舞蹈達人

為表揚過去一年為香港當代舞作出貢獻的人士,CCDC於2016年起設立「城市當代舞蹈達人」獎項,獲提名者的國籍和地區不限,可涉及創作及製作、教育、宣傳及推廣、贊助文化交流等廣泛層面; 候選人由CCDC成員提名,並獲舞團董事會核准頒發。

本年度之頒獎禮已於4月13日(星期五)晚上六時半假葵青劇院舞蹈室舉行,業界人士、著名歌手、CCDC舞者及傳媒朋友蒞臨頒獎禮,見證達人得獎的時刻。

 頒獎禮華片段 

馬澤華先生 (企業慈善家)

現為嗇色園董事會主席的馬澤華先生,於2016及17學年支持為嗇色園轄下八間中小學開辦「嗇色園學校現代舞培訓計劃」,為一百四十多位同學提供持續性以及有系統的藝術發展課程,成功融合舞蹈教育與中國文化的學習。計劃以聯校方式進行,從一系列的基礎舞蹈訓練、創作工作坊以至在正規劇場裡的2017結業演出《舞躍無極》,強化同學們的全人發展之餘,亦巧妙運用舞蹈宣揚傳統文化。在馬澤華先生及嗇色園教育委員會的帶領下,奠定突破常規敢於創新的藝術教育風氣。

得獎者訪問

 

黃海真女士 (服裝製作工作者)

於七十年代開始學習裁縫技藝的黃海真女士,從畫紙樣開始透過一針一線,編織出各式各樣讓舞者盡情發揮的舞台服裝,從而結下與舞蹈界的華麗緣。人稱「Betty姨姨」的黃氏,多年來獲不少獨立編舞、中小型藝團以至學界委託,包辦製作配合編舞意念及演出風格的各款舞台服飾;2017年黃氏為「嗇色園學校現代舞培訓計劃」 結業演出《舞躍無極》中,以大量紗布仿造羽毛效果的手法,製作呈現「火」意像的鮮明舞衣,無論在剪裁技術、舞蹈發揮以至舞台效果上,均備受舞者及觀眾讚譽。黃氏以默默耕耘的姿態,在車衣機前為舞者親手縫紉肢體以外的焦點,可謂表演者背後最堅實的伙伴。

得獎者訪問

 

何力高先生 (香港培正中學副校長)

何力高先生在本地教育界及劇場界均為人熟悉,尤其將藝術表演融會青少年培育的教育理念備受稱譽。何氏堅信嚴謹的音樂劇訓練及演出,能讓摸索成長中的青少年尋回價值及信心。其中由他身兼監製、編劇及填詞並帶領同學三度公演的音樂劇《震動心弦》,排練過程更被奧斯卡最佳紀錄短片獎得主楊紫燁拍成紀錄片《爭氣》,讓大眾見證其對音樂、舞蹈的藝術要求以及參與同學的蛻變成長。2017年何力高先生匯集八十多位包括本地、視障及南亞裔學生,製作及演出大獲好評的勵志音樂劇《奮青樂與路》,再以歌舞訓練及表演方式,成功讓更多青少年獲得具啟發性的學習體驗。

得獎者訪問

 

劉美君女士 (香港歌手/演員)

早於八十年代出道的香港歌手劉美君,當年以不受拘束、大膽前衛的表演風格,為本地樂壇開創先河。除了音樂上的成就,唱而優則演的她於2008年憑電影《我不賣身、我賣子宮》奪得金馬獎最佳女主角,足見其歌唱以外的演藝實力,以及勇於跳出框框、挑戰自我的個性。劉美君更在2017年10月舉行的《Karma Chameleon千色演唱會》當中,破格邀請香港年青編舞林俊浩擔任舞蹈總監,在演出中融會戲劇、歌劇與現代舞,分別以十場跨越時空、極具意象的新編舞蹈串連整個演唱會,為普羅大眾呈現跨界創新的舞台震撼之外,亦開闊本地演唱會多元表演的藝術視野。

得獎者訪問

 

2017年得獎者

2016年得獎者

 
加入通訊名單
收取我們的最新消息



欲收的資訊: 演出及節目資訊
課程資訊

 
 
追蹤舞團動態
追蹤舞蹈中心動態

聯絡舞團  >>