the company / the artists / guest choreographer
Guest Choreographer
 
Helen Lai
Guest Choreographer

 

Helen Lai began her ballet training in Hong Kong and was a founding member of the Hong Kong Ballet For All. She worked as a dancer for local television stations before moving to London to study at the London School of Contemporary Dance. After returning Hong Kong, Lai worked as a Choreographer and Assistant Dance Director for Rediffusion Television. Her choreography was performed at the Hong Kong City Hall in 1977 and 1978. She joined City Contemporary Dance Company (CCDC) in 1979 as a founding member. She was CCDC’s Artistic Director from 1985 to 1989 and Resident Choreographer from 1991 to 2011.

 

Lai has choreographed for nearly every local companies, including the Hong Kong Dance Company, Hong Kong Repertory Theatre, Hong Kong Ballet and DanceArt, as well as a number of film and musical productions. Outside Hong Kong, Lai has choreographed for the Cloud Gate Dance Theatre and Crossover Dance Company in Taipei, Contempodanza and Ballet Estudio in Mexico City, Guangdong Modern Dance Company and Singapore Dance Theatre.

 

Lai’s works illustrate cross-cultural and multi-disciplinary characteristics. Well-versed in literature, Lai’s ideas span Chinese classics, Kafka, Italo Calvino and Greek mythologies, creating profound works that touch the deepest part of the soul. Her major works include Winterreise, Exits and Entrances, Insomnia, Nine Songs, The Rite of Spring, Invisible Cities, Loose Pages from a Woman’s Diary, Revolutionary Pekinese Opera (Millennium Mix), In the Beginning, Plaza X, The Tragedy of Mr O, There, after …, The Comedy of K, Colour Fugue, Testimony, HerStory, No End, Very Dance! and Tales of Two Cities – Hong KongShanghaiEileen Chang. Revolutionary Pekinese Opera (Millennium Mix) was presented at the Karmiel Dance Festival in Israel and the Festival of Cultures in Munich in 1997. Following the success of the UK debut of Nine Songs, Lai was invited to present the piece at the Lyon Biennial Dance Festival in September 2000.

 

In July 2000, Lai was awarded the “Medal of Honour” by the Hong Kong SAR Government. Other awards include “Choreographer of the Year” from the Hong Kong Artists’ Guild (1990) and the “Badge of Honour” from the Queen of the United Kingdom (1995). She is a five-time Hong Kong Dance Alliance Dance Awards winner (1999, 2000, 2001, 2008 and 2011) as well as the recipient of the “Distinguished Achievement Award” (2002). In 2003, she received the “Award for Arts Achievement (Dance)” from The Hong Kong Arts Development Council for her contributions towards arts development in Hong Kong. Lai received an Honorary Fellowship from The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts in July 2004.

 
Helen Lai
 
 
 
 
The Comedy of K
The Comedy of K
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 

 
Sign Up
ENews and Special Offers



Interested in : Performances / events
Dance Courses

 
 
Follow CCDC
Follow Dance Centre

See Full Contact Information   >>

舞蹈團 / 藝術家 / 特邀編舞
特邀編舞
 
黎海寧
特邀編舞

 

黎海寧早期在香港學習芭蕾舞,是香港青年芭蕾舞團的創辦成員,曾任職電視台舞蹈員,後赴倫敦當代舞蹈學院深造,返港後受聘於麗的電視任舞蹈編導及助理舞蹈主任,1977及1978年在大會堂舉辦個人作品展。1979年加入城市當代舞蹈團成為創團成員,1985至1989年出任藝術總監,1991至2011年任駐團編舞。

 

除兼為本地的香港話劇團、香港舞蹈團、香港芭蕾舞團、動藝及其他舞台及電影製作編舞外,黎氏亦經常與海外團體合作,曾多次為臺北的雲門舞集編舞,亦曾為台北越界舞團、墨西哥城的現代舞團及舞蹈工作室、廣東實驗現代舞團、新加坡舞蹈劇場等編舞。

 

黎氏的創作元素跨越不同文化及藝術領域,由楚辭到卡夫卡,卡爾維諾到希臘神話,作品沉練細膩,充滿音樂性及戲劇性,直指人類靈魂最深處。其重要作品包括《冬之旅》、《粉墨登場》、《不眠夜》、《九歌》、《春之祭》、《隱形城市》、《女人心事》、《革命京劇─九七封印》、《創世記》、《Plaza X與異變街道》、《O先生家族死亡事件》、《其後》、《畸人說夢》、《逐色》、《證言》、《女書》、《永無休止》、《舞!舞?舞……》及《雙城記—香港‧上海‧張愛玲》等;《革命京劇─九七封印》獲邀參加1997年以色列卡米爾舞蹈節及慕尼克的香港當代文化藝術節,備受國際注目。《九歌》於2000年二月在倫敦上演後,旋即獲邀於同年九月的里昂舞蹈雙年展中演出。

 

黎氏於1990年獲香港藝術家聯盟頒發「舞蹈家年獎」,1995年獲英女皇頒發「榮譽獎章」。1999至2011年間五度獲頒香港舞蹈聯盟「香港舞蹈年獎:最值得表揚編舞獎」。黎氏於2000年獲香港特區政府頒發「榮譽勳章」,以表揚其藝術發展之貢獻。2002年獲頒香港舞蹈聯盟「傑出成就獎」。2003年獲香港藝術發展局頒發藝術成就獎(舞蹈)。2004年獲香港演藝學院頒授榮譽院士。

 
Helen Lai
 
 
 
 
The Comedy of K
《畸人說夢》
 
 
 
 
 
 
     

 

 
加入通訊名單
收取我們的最新消息



欲收的資訊: 演出及節目資訊
課程資訊

 
 
追蹤舞團動態
追蹤舞蹈中心動態

聯絡舞團  >>