the company / the artists / artistic director
Willy Tsao
Founder / Artistic Director

 

Willy Tsao established CCDC in 1979 and has become its Artistic Director since 1989 and Chief Executive Director from 2004 to 2007. His important choreographic works include Requiem, Hell Screen, Wanderings in the Realm of Lightness, Three Romantic Chinese, A Letter to Aung San Suu Kyi, Tales from the Middle Kingdom, China Wind · China Fire, Sexing Three Millennia, 365 Ways of Doing and Undoing Orientalism, One Table N Chairs, The Conqueror, Warrior Lanling and Dao‧Extraordinaire. His works have been presented in arts festivals in Canada, Korea, Israel, Germany, Singapore as well as Beijing, Shanghai and Taipei of China.
 

Tsao has dedicated incessant efforts in the development of modern dance in China. In September 1987, he started teaching modern dance in the Guangdong Modern Dance Experimental Troupe in Guangzhou and at the Beijing Dance Academy in the following year. In 1991, he was invited to be the Artistic Advisor of the Youth Dance Company of the Beijing Dance Academy. Since 1995, he started conducting intensive modern dance workshops in different cities across the mainland. He helped setting up the Guangdong Modern Dance Company and was then the Artistic Director from 1992 to 1998. He was the Artistic Director of Beijing Modern Dance Company from 1999 to 2005. In 2001, Tsao was invited to be the Artistic Director (Dance) of the Closing Ceremony of the 9th National Games. He was invited to be the Guest Professor of Tianjin Institute of Physical Education in 2002. In 2004, he became the General Manager of the Guangdong Modern Dance Company again. In November 2004, Tsao and the Beijing Modern Dance Company accompanied Mr. Hu Jintao, the then President of the People's Republic of China, in his official visit to South America, and did 15 modern dance performances there. In 2005, he received the Hong Kong Dance Awards for his choreography of One Table N Chairs. In September 2005, he established BeijingDance / LDTX and became its Company Director and Artistic Director.
 

Tsao's contributions have been widely recognised. In July 1999, he was awarded "Bronze Bauhinia Star" by the Hong Kong SAR Government for his significant contribution to the development of local arts. Other accolades and honours include the "Dancer of the Year Award" from the Hong Kong Artists' Guild (1988), the "Ten Outstanding Young Persons" (1990), the "Badge of Honour" from the Queen of the United Kingdom (1993), and the "Louis Cartier Award of Excellence - Outstanding Choreographer" (1998). Tsao received the Honorary Fellowship and Honorary Doctorate from The Hong Kong Academy for Performing Arts in 2000 and 2015 respectively, and “Distinguished Achievement Award” in the Hong Kong Dance Awards 2014 for his immense and invaluable achievement and contribution to Hong Kong dance.

 

 
Sign Up
ENews and Special Offers



Interested in : Performances / events
Dance Courses

 
 
Follow CCDC
Follow Dance Centre

See Full Contact Information   >>

舞蹈團 / 藝術家 / 創辦人/藝術總監
曹誠淵
創辦人/藝術總監

曹誠淵於1979年創辦城市當代舞蹈團,自1989年起出任藝術總監,2004至07年兼任行政總裁。編舞作品包括《安魂曲》、《地獄變》、《逍遙遊》、《三個浪漫的中國人》、《給昂山素姬的信》、《龍謠》、《中國風 • 中國火》、《三千寵愛》、《365種係定唔係東方主義》、《一桌N椅》、《霸王》、《蘭陵王》及《非常道》等。曹氏作品曾獲邀參加多個大型藝術節,包括於加拿大、韓國、以色列、德國、新加坡與及中國的北京、上海、台北等地舉行的國際藝術節。

曹氏對推動中國內地現代舞發展不遺餘力。1989年9月,曹氏成為中國廣東舞蹈學校現代舞實驗班的顧問及導師。1988年5月,曹氏應邀赴中國北京舞蹈學院 教授現代舞,1991年應邀出任中國北京舞蹈學院青年舞團藝術顧問。自1995年起,曹氏在內地多個城市講學。1992至98年曹氏擔任廣東實驗現代舞團藝術總指導,1999至2005年出任北京現代舞團藝術總監。2001年應邀為第九屆全運會閉幕式舞蹈總監。2002年應邀出任天津體育學院舞蹈系客席教授。2004年再度獲邀出任廣東現代舞團總經理。同年11月,曹氏率領北京現代舞蹈團,隨時任國家主席胡錦濤出訪南美,並於當地作十五場巡迴演出。2005年 憑作品《一桌N椅》獲香港舞蹈聯盟「舞蹈年獎」。同年9月創立北京雷動天下現代舞團,並出任舞團總監兼藝術總監。

曹氏於1999年7月獲香港特區政府頒發「銅紫荊星章」,表揚他對本地文化發展的貢獻。其他榮譽包括1988年獲香港藝術家聯盟頒贈「舞蹈家年獎」,1990年獲選為「香港十大傑出青年」,1993年獲英女皇頒發「榮譽獎章」,1998年獲頒「路易.卡地亞卓越成就獎.舞蹈設計家」,並於2000年及2015年獲香港演藝學院分別頒授榮譽院士和榮譽博士,2014年獲頒香港舞蹈年獎「傑出成就獎」,以表揚其對香港舞蹈界的成就及貢獻。。
 
曹氏2004年至2007年為香港藝術發展局藝術範疇代表(舞蹈),現任課程發展議會藝術教育委員會委員和康樂及文化事務署舞蹈顧問。

 

 
加入通訊名單
收取我們的最新消息



欲收的資訊: 演出及節目資訊
課程資訊

 
 
追蹤舞團動態
追蹤舞蹈中心動態

聯絡舞團  >>